top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturefionagiles

Day 5

Updated: Jul 2, 2018

After a leisurely stroll up Royal Mile for the last time this week, we all attended our final two lectures at the Old Medical School. The first one by Professor Ross Fitzgerald was on the evolution of Staphylococcus and gave insight into the different species of Staph and their preferred hosts. The biology of the bacteria and its interaction with the host and why they do not really cross from animals to humans was something I had not looked at before. The second lecture was by Professor Stephen Gillespie on Tuberculosis and looked at what we thought we knew, but maybe wrong about, and some new information that is hopefully correct. It was really interesting and again, the material was new and not something I had seen before. We all had our last lunch in the anatomy museum and looked at some old and sometimes odd pieces. The skeleton of the mass murderer Burke was on display and left some of us wondering what had happened to a few of his toes?!



I am so glad that I made the decision to attend this year’s residential week. It’s been really wonderful to be able to put a face and a personality to some of my fellow students. While I have really enjoyed having the opportunity to pursue my studies in a distance format, being here in Edinburgh has really made me feel like I’m a part of this university. I’ve enjoyed getting to know my classmates, and spending some time exploring this beautiful city. Tara Hoop

After our goodbyes (almost tearful on Amal's behalf), I walked back to my hotel to gather my belongings. On the way I popped into the Christmas shop and bought myself a tartan bagpipe playing ornament for my tree. That will be a lovely reminder each December of a wonderful week, spent with fantastic people, on this residential trip to the University of Edinburgh. Thank you for having us Medhat,Till, Fiona and Sarah, it was a real pleasure.


Victoria Burgess June 2018

153 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page